Z SPACE and piece by piece productions present:

The Wooster group in
The Town Hall Affair

Apr 6 - 16 on Z Space's Main Stage

The latest work by the acclaimed New York-based experimental theater group The Wooster Group, The Town Hall Affair is directed by Elizabeth LeCompte and based on Chris Hegedus and D.A. Pennebaker's film Town Bloody Hall, which documents a rowdy 1971 debate on Women's Liberation held at Town Hall in New York City. The debate participants included distinguished critic Diana Trilling, "saucy feminist" Germaine Greer, and "radical lesbian" Jill Johnston, with Norman Mailer acting as an immoderate moderator.

In The Town Hall Affair the Wooster Group both re-inhabits and derails the original film, redirecting Mailer's pugnacious propensities onto himself and spinning out into Jill Johnston's vision of a revolutionary future.




Directed by
Elizabeth LeCompte

Based on the film Town Bloody Hall, directed by Chris Hegedus and D.A. Pennebaker

With Enver Chakartash, Ari Fliakos, Greg Mehrten, Erin Mullin, Scott Shepherd, Lucy Taylor, and Kate Valk

Lighting: Jennifer Tipton and Ryan Seelig
Sound: Eric Sluyter, Gareth Hobbs
Video and Projections: Robert Wuss
Additional Video: Zbigniew Bzymek
Assistant Directors: Enver Chakartash, Matthew Dipple
Costumes: Enver Chakartash
Stage Manager: Erin Mullin
Technical Directors: Eric Dyer, Joseph Silovsky
Production Manager: Bona Lee
Video DAILIES: Zbigniew Bzymek

Special thanks to Wendy vanden Heuvel