36 Stories by sam shepard

Arranged for the stage by Amy Kossow

May 21 - Jun 22, 2014 at Z Below

"…highly entertaining…an ensemble of Bay Area all-stars…"
—Robert Hurwitt in the SF Chronicle

"…the company operating at the height of its powers...zany humor; smoldering sexual heat; and a shapeless foreboding."
—Rob Avila, SF Bay Guardian

Word for Word charter member Amy Kossow spent a year sifting through five of Mr. Shepard’s collections of short stories, eventually choosing to begin with a single story, set, simply enough, in a roadside diner. The resulting script, 36 Stories by Sam Shepard, weaves together tales of his beloved great American desert highways, the endless lonesome roads along which you may meet any type of fellow wanderer.

Co-Artistic Director JoAnne Winter says, “It’s got everything: A talking severed head; a man-sized hawk; a dangerous female mercenary. It’s the story of a lone writer on the road in search of inspiration in dingy motels and seedy diners. It’s the story of what happens to you when you’re busy making plans. When you’re doing one thing and life comes crashing in to take you in a completely different direction.”

This show is part of Magic Theatre's “Sheparding America” festival, celebrating the work of Sam Shepard on his 70th Birthday. Partners presenting work include: ACT, intersection/Campo Santo, Crowded Fire, and Word for Word. As part of this momentous event, Word for Word was invited to construct an original work by adapting his prose for the stage.


Rod Gnapp*
Carl Lumbly*
Patrick Alparone*
Delia MacDougall*
JoAnne Winter*

Asst. Director: Wendy Radford
Stage Manager: Justin D. Schlegel*
Asst. Stage Manager: Allie Khori
Scenic Design: Giulio Perrone
Lighting Design: Jim Cave
Costume Design: Christine Crook
Sound Design: Drew Yerys
Movement: Tracy Hazas
Mask Design: John Daniel
Properties Design: Jacquelyn Scott
Music Director: Paul Finocchiaro

Production Manager: Jimmy Walden
Producer: Lisa Steindler

Word for Word Co-Artistic Directors:
JoAnne Winter and Susan Harloe
*member, AEA